7. Looking back at your preliminary task, what do you feel you have learnt in the progression from it to the full product?

QUESTION 7

Question72

Looking back at your preliminary task, what do you feel you have learnt in the progression from it to the full product?

Now looking back at my preliminary task and comparing it to my full product, now I can see how I have improved greatly. I feel that when making my full product I have learned a lot to which could have helped me with my preliminary task, also there are a lot of things I did not consider when making my preliminary task.

I have learnt that when creating a product you really need to take into consideration, your audience; what they like and want from a magazine. You need to focus on what age group you are trying to show and even go into research into similar products to see how they do it. By doing this you are able to create a piece of work that you know for definite will be bought by your target audience.

Researching into similar products was the most beneficial thing for me when helping me create my full product as I knew how similar products in my genre portrayed genders therefore when doing my shoot for images that would be used for my magazine, I knew how to portray my models to the point when it came to what they should wear and what sort of mode of address they should give, it is essential to get this correct as you want to create the correct vibe and atmosphere that the magazine should give as then the target audience will be able to relate to the magazine. I have learned the essential forms and conventions that should be used on a magazine, some that I did not really realise I needed when creating my preliminary task. The researching into similar products helped me identify the difference between magazine genres and how to identify the differences between them easily

Comparing my two pieces of work, my use of text sizes, fonts and structure is completely improved, the use of photos look more professional too. I learned basic skills and advice that I should know when creating a magazine, when it came to direct mode of address page layouts and more. It all helped me make my full products, my preliminary task looks like simple class work where as my official pieces look like actual magazine pieces and that is what I am most happy about. Feedback is the main aspect to which helped me progress in my work each step from my preliminary task to my official product was followed by feedback and that is what has allowed me to progress within my work and create a piece to which my target audience will be more than pleased to buy. I knew what colours connote what and which colours fit my magazine this helped set the right atmosphere for my magazine and what aspects fit my genre also.

I learnt that when it comes to a front cover, people do not want a messy page, with a lot of writing all over the page, they want photos to be professional and not poor quality as all of this helps sell the magazine, they want the orientation of the magazine to be constructed well as they want the front over to really burst out to them showing them the genre straight away, I think that realization has helped me make my full product much better than my preliminary task , as you really have to consider what you are trying to demonstrate to your audience. Furthermore, when it came to my contents page I realised people want a page that shows everything that is going on in the magazine, however they want it to be a chilled page, one that is nice to read not confusing and busy, they want all the basic conventions and a cover model to be the main focus.

Audience feedback was crucial to have as it helped me be able to create the perfect magazine for my audience. Feedback was so helpful as it allowed me to get primary feedback, knowing what my specific audience wanted instead of only knowing what the majority of Hip-Hop magazines had as if I created my magazine based purely on similar products, my own product would simply be a copy of another magazine. Therefore, feedback allowed me to create a unique piece of work as well as ensuring it fit the style of the stereotypical Hip-Hop magazine in the sense of representations and conventions.

Just looking at my preliminary task compared to my full products you can see how I have improved and that is all through the help off much research and feedback from audience and teachers as they are the ones who want to buy the magazine  and know the most about them as they are the ones that read any. That is where I mainly went wrong when it came to my preliminary task, I did not do research on what my audience would like and want.

Leave a comment