Prestige’s First Drafts Class Feedback

After getting feedback from Facebook, from some target audience members, I still wanted to get more feedback as it would really give me an idea of what to change. Therefore, gathering my class members I asked them on their opinions of the pieces so far, as they would know critical changes they may need to be changed to take my pieces to the next level, therefore they gave me feedback on each piece.

Front Cover:
IMG_2745

When it came to my front cover, firstly my class mate members agreed that I should move my ‘Hip Hop on another level’ to the other side of the page, move the ‘September’ issue to underneath the masthead and to possibly fill the space with a possible skyline or something similar. They also agreed that I needed to clean up and tidy up the masthead where I have used superimposition, to make it look more professional which was a fair point.
They then agreed that when it came to the cover lines, they needed to be positioned to where they all fit and aligned as most magazines are conventionalized that way. When it came to the main cover line, they said I should emphasize on the word ‘EEZY’ possibly making it better, as it uses star appeal. They also said I should possibly use the colour red on the word ‘vengeance’ as it would bring attention on what the article is about.
After these points they said I should lastly just possibly pick up the colour red more and use this colour more throughout the front cover. They also said I should take another look on sizing options on my text and different articles to show the importance of what is being said.

Contents:
IMG_2743

Looking at my contents page, my class members said they liked the overall look of the contents page, however some changes would take the page up a step. Firstly they said when it came to the secondary images, I should possibly only use two as the other two photos did not need to be there as they were of the cover models, and to possibly change the format of the layout of it as it may allow me to bring my text higher on the page, allowing me to add more. Also when it came to my text they said to change the page numbers and to highlight the sub-headings to make them stand out.
Lastly they said when it came to the pull quote I should allow my audience to know who the cover model is and to possibly use a different layout for the text. After these changes they said that I should just look over the page and to check all my sizing choices.

Double Page Spread:

IMG_2744

For my double page spread my class members firstly brought attention to the main image, they said it look stretched and with the shape of the photo, it was not in the middle of the page, this meant that there was not enough room for the article side of the page,therefore I needed to find a way to correct it or to possibly use another image. After that there was not much to say apart from minor changes I should look for. In the article I needed to check that it was all aligned and correct. Also to make the article longer to fit the page more. After this I had to check fonts and sizing techniques just to make my double page spread that little bit better.

With all this feedback along with my Facebook feedback, I will now make swift changes to my magazine pieces as I want it to be the best it can be ensuring that my audience receive a magazine which they will enjoy.

Leave a comment